slowly returning

after nearly two weeks away from home (one week in tulsa, another few days at a retreat center in malibu for my spiritual formation and direction)i’m finally starting to settle back into my more normal routines… today i got online and turned on the tv for the first time since i returned home.

getting back into the routines of life has been suprisingly challenging. during my week in tulsa, i was online a little bit…but nothing compared to normal. i also didn’t watch much tv… a late night episode of designing women before bed was about it. i did go to the pool, take naps, read and mostly just hung out with friends and family. when i went to malibu, internet access and tv just aren’t options… my cell phone coverage wasn’t even good there. during that time i connected with my friends in my class, but mostly i just connected with myself and god. i came to the realization that i have an identity that doesn’t revolve around my singleness or my job or my role in my family or what i do for my friends…this may not come as a surprise to some people, but it was quite a shock for me. when i think of myself all those external things seem to define me or at least did. i think this may be why it’s been so challenging to reengage in my typical world… i like the person i’m finding underneath the layers, the me who just is, i’m a little afraid this me might slowly evaporate, becoming invisible again, lost in the noise and rush of life… so, for now… i think i’ll just keep taking things slow…

0 Responses to “slowly returning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

godfreymindi’s twitterfeed

  • @Walmart all of the mobile apps, text services will not expedite pick-ups at your understaffed pharmacy store 3457. 1 month ago
  • RT @CoryBooker: “Ignorance, allied with power, is the most ferocious enemy justice can have.” James Baldwin 4 months ago
  • Last summer I flew to NYC to see @SteveMartinToGo 'a Bright Star. Tonite I drove across town to see him!! #giddy 6 months ago
  • RT @dianabutlerbass: Remember, rest, regain a sense of your soul: “Sabbath . . . is about withdrawal from the anxiety system of Pharaoh.”… 7 months ago
  • RT @NickKristof: Clinton has the patient look of any woman listening to a man lecture her about things he doesn't know anything about. 11 months ago

Earlier Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 636 other followers


