i get by with a little help from my friends

if you want a clue into the friendships of women, check out sex and the city. i really love this show. i totally don’t relate to all the casual sex and picking up men (i’m just way too shy to pick up guys and too old fashioned for casual sex), but i do relate to the single angst, relationship woes and friendships. tonite’s episode was about carrie’s 35th birthday, about feeling alone and growing old. and it was her girlfriends who came along, who celebrated her, who reminded her she really wasn’t alone. i get that. those kinds of girlfriends are the ones who make life a little easier and a lot more fun. i’m so grateful to have a few of those kinds of girlfriends in my life.

lately i’ve been processing the whole growing old alone thing on a really deeply personal level. and in the midst i have a few friends who are sticking by me, reminding me i’m not alone. i’m so grateful for these friends. i couldn’t get by without them.

4 Responses to “i get by with a little help from my friends”


  1. 1 'neice 29 March, 2006 at 4:06 pm

    That is awsome, Mindi. I wish I had women in my life like that. All my female friends here are married and come to think of it…they are in So Cal as well…except for one, but she’s still in her 20s!

  2. 2 mindi 29 March, 2006 at 5:43 pm

    actually, in my case, my friends are married. i have a few single friends, but my closest friends are married.

  3. 3 'neice 29 March, 2006 at 7:24 pm

    Ditto and they are all a lot older than me…but one! She is a year younger and has a kid who is a senior in high school and a daughter in my ministry!

  4. 4 Jeff 6 April, 2006 at 4:47 am

    I’d be interested in hearing if you’ve come up with any answers to the growing old alone thing…


Leave a Reply

godfreymindi’s twitterfeed

  • @Walmart all of the mobile apps, text services will not expedite pick-ups at your understaffed pharmacy store 3457. 1 month ago
  • RT @CoryBooker: “Ignorance, allied with power, is the most ferocious enemy justice can have.” James Baldwin 4 months ago
  • Last summer I flew to NYC to see @SteveMartinToGo 'a Bright Star. Tonite I drove across town to see him!! #giddy 6 months ago
  • RT @dianabutlerbass: Remember, rest, regain a sense of your soul: “Sabbath . . . is about withdrawal from the anxiety system of Pharaoh.”… 7 months ago
  • RT @NickKristof: Clinton has the patient look of any woman listening to a man lecture her about things he doesn't know anything about. 11 months ago

Earlier Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 636 other followers


